Veggie Quesadillas

final quesadillaIn the height of the summer vegetable season, I start to get FOMO if I don’t plan meals using lots of fresh peak season veggies and fruit. I found this great recipe using zucchini in quesadillas on Food & Wine, which allows me to both eat fresh veggies and cook a meal with enough leftovers for the next day’s lunches or dinner. If you really want to stretch this meal, you can also double it. These quesadillas are one recipe I don’t get tired of, even if I eat them most of the week!

final corn

Since it’s summer (aka FOMO veggie season), I used fresh corn and added kale. I also baked these open-faced on a gluten free tortilla, to get a higher ratio of vegetables.

final ingredientsBonus: I take the leftovers to work and heat them in the toaster oven, which incites plenty of lunch envy throughout the office!

Ingredients
2 small zucchini, grated, then squeezed and drained in a dish towel or between paper towels
2 ears corn, fresh kernels cut off the cob
1 small red onion, chopped
4 leaves kale, finely sliced
2 jalapeños, diced fine with seeds and ribs removed
1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. chili powder
3/4 lb. cheese (such as Colby, Monterey Jack, goat cheese, or cheddar. I used a mix of colby jack, goat cheese and cheddar)
6 gluten free tortillas (my preference is Food for Life, as a I can find them in most grocery stores)
For serving: chopped cilantro, hot sauce, sour cream, lime wedges

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
Combine zucchini, corn, onion, kale, beans, salt, chili powder, and cheese in a large bowl and toss gently to evenly distribute.
Place a tortilla on a baking sheet, then add 1/2 to 3/4 cup of the zucchini mixture, enough to cover the tortilla in an even layer.
Bake until the tortilla is crisp and cheese is melted, 10-15 minutes.
Serve topped with hot sauce, sour cream, cilantro, and a squeeze of lime.
For lunches, I like to mix the toppings together to make one lazy girl’s “sauce” that I can easily pack in a single container.

Leave a comment